top of page

AYO ~ COVID-19


Listen to this song while reading! It's a really nice song, try going through the lyrics if you have time.

 

How was your 2020?


Mine was acceptable, but to be honest, it was great. I know that "Great" is not the right word to describe 2020 but I really could not find any other suitable one to fill the place.

----------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks to all the front-line doctors and officers are trying their best to win the fight against COVID.

From the bottom of my heart.

Thank you.

---------------------------------------------------------------

As a home person, COVID has not really affected me much since I normally spend most of my time inside the house and keeping myself busy. But, yeah, I have to admitted that more or less, I cannot be a outsider.


I guess I was doing just fine for a couple of months and there came a flood of depression and overthinking.


My physical health was ok, except for the fact that while fulfilling my killing-time plan as I was cleaning my room, I accidentally cut my palm with a paper cutter.


Damn, that's hurt.


I still remembered the moment when it cut through my palm. Well, I was trying to clean my ceiling lights with a handmade stick. I was cutting tapes to wrap it around the stick to make it firmer. Yeah, you got it right. I cut it using THE PAPER CUTTER.


Have you ever had a slight thought of what might happen it you do something and later, just a little second later, IT ACTUALLY HAPPENS EXACTLY THE WAY YOU HAVE IMAGINED?


I don’t know whether you have it or not.

But well, I did.


As I raised the paper cutter up, I came up with the thought of "Hey, what if I miss the stop and end up cutting myself." IT HAPPENED right after I finished that thought.


And I stood there calmly cursing at myself for being so damn careless.


Very soon then I realized how serious the situation I was in that I ran out of my room and asking for help. My nephew - who was my cleaning assistant at that time - told me later that there was a trail of blood drops all the way from my room to downstairs.


I know what you're thinking. What a horror scene!


The cut was too deep that I hardly could stay home and put on a bandage as normal. I know that but I still hope that I could have it treated at home.

But life ain’t roses.

I was sent to the emergency room and God knows how coward I am facing the syringe.

As soon as I stepped in the room and had a nurse filled in my info as well as screening my wound. I was sent to another room - where I knew for sure I would come out with lots of stitches.

The General Operation Room welcomed me with another terrifying scene of a man - a very young man actually - was lying on a flat bed with lots of cuts down one of his foot and the whole area below that was covered with blood. And a few centimeters from that was where I was dead standing.


I did not dare to have a second look as it was just so overwhelming to me. And I literally stood there and just trying my best to erase that image in my mind while clearing my eye view onto something else.


A nurse came in and saw my petrifying posture. She, then, guided me to another bed. I sat there, got my wound covered up with some cotton pad and was ordered to lie down and wait for the doctor to come and stitch my palm up.


At that time, I was lying parallel to that unfortunate young man. I noticed that he was still conscious. A few minutes passed and the doctor came. He first addressed me on how I got my palm cut and after seeing that I was not in quite a serious situation compared to my new patient-mate, he moved on to asked the young man the same question. Since the room was so small that I could almost hear everything they discussed. The young man got cut while cutting glasses, he stepped on it and got some more other cuts while stripping and falling onto it.


I felt sorry for the man. He must have hurt a lot.


Back to the story, the doctor came to a conclusion that the young man needed a real operation as he got so many tiny craters in his foot and if they prolonged this situation, he would not only can be dead by infectious but also by non-stop bleeding. After a few more words from the doctor, the young man was assigned to have a full-body checkup before going to the surgery room.


--------------------------------------------------------------------

Here's come the funny part :))


The doctor turned to me. He gave me a little smirk which I thought was irritated as I was sinking in pain (and fear).


He sat down on a nearby chair. Clean my wound one more time with cotton pads dipped in hydrogen peroxide. I did not dare to look for the whole process.


"Are you afraid of getting stitches?"

(I nodded)

"Ok, very well then. Do you wanna have an anesthetic injection? Or do you wanna have it raw?"

(Thanks God, he's actually giving me choices!!!)

"But, I must tell you that I suggest not to. Actually getting stitches are not that painful as you thought"

"Give it a try"


I swear to God, for the whole conversation, he was so tender and sweet. And so trusted.

He's actually got me believe that getting ONE stitch wouldn't hurt that bad.

Therefore, I said, "Yes, OK, well then, I'll give it a try."


As I lay there having one arm stretched out of the bed, I turned my head away from the stitching scene. And my view first landed on that man with an injured foot covered with blood.


My mind went blank.


I quickly gained myself back together and turned to my other side then was the wall.


"Are you ready? I am going to start the first stitch"

(why the hell are you telling me that? you supposed to do it without my knowing)


THAT FIRST ONE STITCH hurt like hell. I've never have stitches before so I have no idea what it would be like.

But you know, the doctor would use a special tool, a very very very very thin one with a little hook at one end, to insert the medical thread to your skin. He would make it to the end of the thread and then make a knot to keep it in place. Insert some more parallel thread lines along your wound, he then twisted tightly at each line to make sure that the wound mouth is closed. And that twisting and tightening moments were my most painful memories.


I felt like I couldn't breathe between each time he inserted that thread into my skin.

I squeezed my teeth everytime he tied a knot.


Oh, and did you remember that he mentioned I only had to take ONE stitch?

I HAD THREE.

WITH NO ANESTHETIC INJECTION!!!!



This is how my hand looked like after I got back from the hospital. I couldn't move my fingers or grab anything. I was not allowed to let water touch my wound. Therefore, my routine just got suddenly messed up.


I was about to take a test on the next two weeks then that happened. That was an online test. And I couldn't use force on my left hand.


Yay me!


I took me several months for the wound to fully healed, yet the aching is still there if I press on it.


I learnt my lesson of how to be more aware on protecting myself from sharp-pointed things.


I learnt my lesson of not to trust doctors, especially male ones, when they assured getting stiches would not hurt :))


--------------------------------------------------------------------------

:))) anh bác sĩ thật ra còn mắng mình một câu


"Bộ ở nhà em rảnh lắm hả? Không có gì làm hay gì? Ở nhà chống dịch rảnh quá chứ gì?"

"Bỏ nha, rảnh quá."




Daily Tips

#1 
Cứ sai đi vì cuộc đời cho phép :))

 

#2

Cuộc đời có bao lâu, tuổi trẻ mấy lần trở lại mà cứ hoài u buồn :)))

#3

Làm hết sức, chơi hết mình ~~~

bottom of page